On Reading Groups

“For most people, what is so painful about reading is that you read something and you don’t have anybody to share it with. In part what the book club opens up is that people can read a book and then have someone else to talk about it with. Then they see that a book can lead to the pleasure of conversation, that the solitary act of reading can actually be a part of the path to communion and community.” – bel hooks

Found at Reading is Fundamental via The Sky Like a Scallop Shell
One Response to On Reading Groups

  1. Nia says:

    I believe this is so true! I have been speaking with a friend lately sbout dtarting a book club. All my friends and family always hear about the books I read, whether they have ever read them or not. I love to read authors that make me think, sometimess teaching me things that I can learn from and lessons I can use in my day to day life. I love stories that just draw me in, its better than a movie!

Leave a Reply

