U.S. Poets to Be Honored on 2012 Postage Stamps

Ten 20th-Century American poets will appear on U.S.  postage stamps next year.

The poets selected are Elizabeth Bishop, Joseph Brodsky, Gwendolyn Brooks, E. E. Cummings, Robert Hayden, Denise Levertov, Sylvia Plath, Theodore Roethke, Wallace Stevens and William Carlos Williams.

These worthies will join a host of other authors previously featured on the postage stamps of the United States and other countries. In fact, there’s an entire website devoted to showcasing those stamps – as well as another website devoted to stamps featuring libraries.

Found at Shelf Awareness


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: