Bookish Quotation du Jour

“If there exist connections among the books I read and the order in which I choose to read them, it’s news to me. Except for the few times I’ve read a writer’s work systematically – Shakespeare, Dickens, Melville, Henry James – I’ve always followed an intuitive path. Mentioning Dickens reminds me of another Pessoa observation in The Book of Disquiet: ‘One of my life’s greatest tragedies is to have already read The Pickwick Papers. (I can’t go back and read them for the first time.)'”

– Patrick Kurp, excerpt from a September 11, 2010 posting to Anecdotal Evidence

Leave a Reply

